Why I Don’t Want Children

Earlier I saw a post explaining why this person did not want children. Although I feel like this is not something that should have to be explained, in a world where the expectation on women is to have children, I feel like it is something I need to talk about.

My reasons are pretty selfish, but why shouldn’t they be? It is, after all, my life it will be affecting. So my first reason is that I don’t want to go through all the pain and discomfort of pregnancy and childbirth for something that I don’t particularly want to have. Also, what good is a mother who has no desire to look after a child?

My second reason is my OCD would freak the hell out with a snotty poop-machine placed in front of me to look after. Children have no idea what hygiene is, but it is good for them because it means they are building up an immune system. Not good for me who would probably have a panic attack over cleaning a child’s nappy.

My third reason is that you have to pay attention to them pretty much all the time, I don’t want that, I want to be able to have time for me. There is so much responsibility in raising a child and what if I get that wrong? Thats a whole life I am affecting.

My fourth reason is that I want to focus on my career. My work means so much to me and I just don’t think I’d have the energy to focus on work AND looking after a child.

My fifth reason is that I want to travel, I want to go across the world and have so many amazing experiences. I want to feel free, I don’t want to feel tied down because I have to look after a child. I don’t want my whole life to revolve around that child.

My sixth reason is that I want my love life to stay fun and exciting. When I marry I want to be able to keep on giving him sexy surprises. I want to be able to just walk around the house naked (its freeing, okay) and not worry that one day I won’t be able to because I’ll have full grown kids in the house.

My seventh reason is that the world is already overpopulated, its not sustainable. This is only going to keep getting worse. The more people that decide they don’t want children, the less strain we are going to be putting on this planet.

Hopefully one day women won’t feel the need to explain their reasoning behind why they don’t want children. But for now, I have given my reasonings and hopefully people will accept that it is my body, my life and therefore my choice.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kaitlyn Rose says:

    This was awesome!!! I totally agree!!

Leave a Reply

