My Transition to Veganism

While doing a university project I stumbled upon a video which has changed my view on the world’s eating habits entirely. Most people have no understanding of why someone would want to go vegan, and this saddens me. The lack of education in this area is overwhelming, and considering animal agriculture is the main cause of global warming its crazy that it isn’t taught in school. However, because big corporations own these food companies they have powerful influence over the government who will continue to endorse meat and animal products despite the abuse and massacre that these animals face every day.

There are many reasons for my turning vegan and these include the following aspects: ethical, environmental and nutritional. Ethical, because I have seen with my own eyes how these animals are treated and the procedures they go through before they get to our plate. Environmental, because of the severe damage that animal agriculture is causing our planet. Nutritional, because veganism reduces the risk of diseases such as diabetes, cancer and heart disease.

The videos I watched that influenced my decision are below:

Also, check out Gary Yourofsky’s other videos, he is very passionate about his views on the matter.

I also urge that you watch Cowspiracy (currently on Netflix) which goes deep into how damaging animal agriculture is to our planet. Below is an infographic from their website:

Cowspiracy-Infographic

I am currently reading ‘Becoming Vegan: Comprehensive Edition’ by Brenda Davis and Vesanto Melina. It is an analytical study about vegan nutrition and also includes some facts about the ethical and environmental aspects of the animal agriculture industry.

I have a question for you. When Cecil the lion was killed by that hunter, there were a lot of angry people. A lot of people who thought it was wrong to kill that lion. But what difference is that to a cow, or a pig? A chicken, or a duck? They are more intelligent than we give them credit for. They are sentient beings with thoughts and emotions. What makes their lives any less valuable than a lions? What makes their lives any less valuable than a human beings?

Bottom line: I have gone vegan because it is the right thing to do. Not only does it further my ideals of equality (because yes that should include everyone) but it is also a means to an end. An end for the suffering of these animals and an end to the devastation that animal agriculture is causing this planet.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jim Wood says:

    I too am vegan and have been for a few years now. My advice is to not be too hard on yourself initially. I know its hard as ultimately you are saving animal lives. Its a long journey and I do hope your journey is enlightening.

    1. Thank you for the advice and kind words 🙂

    1. Thank you for the reblog 🙂

Leave a Reply

